Data centers & fiber: archive
Every Data centers & fiber story in Infrastructure, newest first. 570 stories
2 stories
Axe Compute takes over Columbus GPU SPV, paying off $87.6m asset-backed loan
Duos keeps the Columbus data center and covers the site's colocation and energy costs for five years; the remaining $42.9m is deferred, payable in $715,000 monthly installments.
Forum Markets forms compute joint venture with Edge Node, holding 51%
Forum Edge AI starts with 2MW in Dallas, a 9MW campus in High Point, North Carolina, and a Texas tower site with power and permits in place.
11 stories
DCD Connect London report puts grid access ahead of capital
The report, drawn from 48 hours and more than 4,000 attendees, names supply chain, grid access and social license as the constraints that now stop European projects.
Data center contractors say new state rules extend permitting without cooling demand
Virginia, Pennsylvania and Texas have each constrained data center permitting since August, and builders describe the friction as entitlement risk rather than a thinning order book.
Applied Digital completes second Ellendale building, adding 75MW for CoreWeave
Polaris Forge 1 now operates 250MW of a planned 400MW at Ellendale, all leased to CoreWeave.
Blackstart Digital to buy IBM's Almaden campus for data center conversion
Blackstart plans to expand the 25MW substation and leave more than 500 acres undeveloped; terms were not disclosed and the deal has not closed.
Verda raises $189m Series B toward 250MW, with no customer named
Supermicro, MUFG Innovation Partners and Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company joined Emergence Capital's round, which takes total funding past $450m but does not disclose a counterparty for the new capacity.
BT announces plan to acquire TalkTalk and PlatformX in £400m rescue
The deal would cover 2.5 million customers and secure 900 jobs, with BT expecting a regulatory review over the coming weeks.
Rightfiber completes purchase of Fastwyre's Nebraska broadband operations
The fiber platform Grain Management formed weeks earlier says integration has begun; the purchase price was not disclosed.
Anthropic hires Google's data center design chief to lead EMEA capacity
John M. Wilson spent six years at Google and previously ran European design and construction at Amazon.
atNorth plans €2 billion Salo data center with 75MW first phase
Power for the opening phase is secured and the grid connection could reach 230MW, with the campus due online in the third quarter of 2028.
AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon sign satellite spectrum joint venture and name interim CEO
The new entity pools spectrum and writes common device and interface specifications, with Paul Roth running it while the carriers search for a permanent CEO.
Continent 8 opens first Africa data center in Johannesburg, adds New York site
The iGaming hosting provider has not disclosed the Johannesburg location or a colocation partner; its Tioga Downs facility reportedly offers 24 racks.
1 story
New York's hyperscale data center moratorium pushes developers to on-site power
Data Center Dynamics reports the statewide order and points to behind-the-meter generation, fuel cells and storage as the industry's answer.
17 stories
Intro Group plans $270m for first phase of Egypt's Kemet Data Center
The Suez Canal Economic Zone facility is planned at 80MW across two phases and partly on solar; the report names no tenant or interconnection terms.
Karlsruhe Institute plans a €24 million AI data center for 2030 with a 10MW power option
The university has not fixed the compute capacity, but the power envelope runs to 2MW and the heat loop stays on campus.
Dline.ua's Kyiv data center goes offline after a Russian strike
Dream Line says customer data moved to backup sites, but the report does not say where those sites sit.
Poland's three-site national data center wins PLN 1.56bn EU grant
The Ministry of Digital Affairs and NASK-PIB project is now slated for 2029 completion, after a cancelled procurement round and a first-phase cost ceiling of PLN 1.6bn.
Kasey Fowler-Finn's data center noise guidance recommends 1,500-foot setbacks over 4.5-foot walls
The Saint Louis University biologist says the 63-hertz hum of cooling systems passes through ordinary walls, leaving distance as the practical mitigation.
Nvidia taps Jacobs for a three-year data center digital twin at an R&D facility
The three-year software-as-a-service contract covers dynamic power load balancing, energy forecasting, liquid coolant leak detection, predictive maintenance and operator training, and the release puts no price on it.
Data center construction outruns the nonresidential field again as material and labor costs reemerge
Nonresidential construction spending rose for a fifth consecutive month in August, while ABC's chief economist expects momentum to stay confined to data centers and power.
Medusa subsea cable will connect to Jordan's Coral Bridge in NaiTel agreement
AFR-IX's Mediterranean system will take colocation capacity at the 12MW Aqaba Digital Hub and connect to a 15km cable into Egypt, though no landing date or capacity was disclosed.
Xeal launches Laitent to run AI inference on idle EV charging capacity
The company says Laitent can reach more than 200MW of permitted electrical infrastructure across 1,600 US sites and plans 100,000 Nvidia GPUs.
Amazon signs Uzbekistan's Uztelecom to distribute Amazon Leo satellite service
UZ-SAT, a Uztelecom affiliate, will resell the service in areas where extending the state carrier's fiber is hardest.
Nation Data Center breaks ground on 7MW AI facility in Vélizy-Villacoublay
The Altarea-owned developer says the hall will run at a power usage effectiveness of 1.2 with direct liquid cooling and send its recovered heat to the town's district heating network.
Lambda and Sharon AI raise $1.356bn in GPU-backed debt priced 3.17 points apart
Lambda's $1bn facility carries a 6.78% coupon and an investment-grade rating; Sharon AI's $365m SPV debt priced at 9.95%.
Enetron Park announces 250MW Pyhäjoki zoning approval despite municipal board rejection
The developer says construction begins in early 2028 while board minutes record a 5-2 vote rejecting planning for the project.
Skybox and Prologis file for fourth and largest Hutto data center
The 846,300 sq ft single-story building would be the biggest at the PowerCampus site, with construction set for January 2027 and $550 million from Skybox.
Innova opens consultation on 148-acre Cheshire data center as residents object
The Spodegreen proposal on Tatton Estate farmland would draw grid power and include a solar farm, with a planning application expected late this year or early 2027.
Crusoe files for a $4.8bn data center campus in Jayton, Texas
The two buildings are slated to go live in 2029, and the filings name no tenant, landowner or power source.
CX Tech files plans for 1GW data center campus at Scotland's Chapelcross nuclear site
The Planning Permission in Principle application covers eight buildings, a substation and 55 hectares on land controlled by the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority's property arm.
9 stories
GMI Cloud raises $668m for AI capacity, two-thirds of it as debt
The Taiwanese AI cloud provider's $223m Series B was led by ARCHIV, with a $445m credit facility led by CTBC; Nvidia and several Asian corporates are named among participants.
ESA selects OVHcloud and CGI for sovereign Earth observation cloud
OVHcloud will supply the platform layer for a federated system ESA expects to hold more than 500 petabytes of Earth observation data by 2035.
Nebius signs 50MW, 12-year capacity deal with AIB Data Centers
Tenant prepayments, along with project debt and equity, will fund two data halls at a site already carrying a 65MW electric service agreement.
Traysar and Armada plan to explore putting sovereign AI compute underground
Traysar's truck-mounted Terminus boring rig would place Armada's modular data centers below ground; the announcement names no site or power figure.
Police say drone struck Moldova communications tower; services uninterrupted
President Maia Sandu said four Russian drones violated Moldovan airspace and at least one exploded in the north.
Tencent signs $7bn five-year lease for 100,000 Oracle GPUs in Southeast Asia, FT reports
The Financial Times says 30 percent of the value would be paid upfront, citing two people familiar with the matter.
Senate blocks Ratepayer Protection Act in 57-43 vote
The House passed it 417-3, but the Senate fell three votes short of the 60 needed; a new bill would make large data centers pay their own incremental power costs.
Xantaro names Christian Werner CEO as Czermin moves to executive chairman
The German network integrator's disclosed UK footprint is more than 40 altnets, the sole pipeline figure in an announcement that carries no revenue or headcount.
SoftBank closes $3.1bn DigitalBridge take-private, de-listing the $108bn manager
Under CEO Marc Ganzi, DigitalBridge remains a separately managed SoftBank subsidiary; its portfolio companies stay outside the transaction.