Features: archive
Every Features story in Sustainable Investing, newest first. 60 stories
1 story
- The Wrap
EIB commits at least €30 billion to climate adaptation by 2030
The 2026–2030 plan doubles the financing pace and pairs blended finance with risk-sharing tools.
2 stories
- The Wrap
AIIB commits up to $100 million to TPG's Global South climate strategy
A $50 million fund commitment is paired with up to $50 million for co-investments; the strategy targets $2.5 billion.
- The Wrap
Citi structures $72 million note tied to Applied Carbon biochar credits
Nuveen participated in the transaction, announced October 22.
2 stories
- Products
Ara closes $2.5bn conventional-energy fund as Blackstone hits $8.7bn hard cap
The pool combines $1.8bn fund commitments with $700m co-investment; Blackstone's transition fund is more than 50% larger than its predecessor.
- The Wrap
EU Innovation Fund awards €3.4bn of ETS revenue to 77 net-zero projects
Twelve large-scale projects take nearly half the award, and small modular nuclear and direct air capture projects are firsts for the fund.
2 stories
- The Wrap
NORD/LB agrees to buy renewable energy adviser Voltiq
The Amsterdam- and Madrid-based boutique advises on project financing, debt and equity raising and M&A; terms were not disclosed.
- The Wrap
NORD/LB announces deal to acquire renewable-energy adviser Voltiq
Voltiq, founded in 2009 and based in Amsterdam and Madrid, advises on project financing, debt and equity raising and M&A. The purchase price was not disclosed.
1 story
- The Wrap
Google is named buyer in AEP fuel cell PPA and 44.01 removal offtake
The $4 billion AEP project would use Bloom Energy fuel cells; the $11.7 million Frontier offtake covers 20,932 tons.
1 story
- The Wrap
JPMorgan's sustainable-finance book reached $1.2tn, 48% of its $2.5tn target
The bank keeps its financed-emissions targets and rebalances its energy strategy while attributing some progress to broader eligibility criteria.
2 stories
- Products
ESMA guidance asks fund and bond providers to separate investor impact from investee impact
The thematic note creates no new obligations and covers bond providers as well as funds.
- The Wrap
Ircantec awards Amundi and BNP Paribas nearly €1.6bn climate-linked equity mandates
The mandate uses a custom MSCI SRI index with a 7% annual decarbonization target.
1 story
- The Wrap
KKR and TotalEnergies plan $1.2bn U.S. solar expansion
The deal would add 700 megawatts in Texas and Ohio, raising jointly held capacity from 1.4 GW to about 2.1 GW.
2 stories
- The Wrap
IFC and BlueOrchard open $2bn emerging-markets private debt fund
Tokio Marine Group anchored a $300m first close, leaving 85% of the target still to be raised.
- The Wrap
IFC and BlueOrchard target $2bn emerging-markets private debt fund
Tokio Marine Group is the anchor investor and $300 million is committed at first close.
2 stories
- The Wrap
USDA ends upfront REAP grants for farm energy projects, effective Oct. 16
The rules, effective Oct. 16, require applicants to finance and complete a project and document a full year of energy savings before applying.
- The Wrap
South Korea launches 10-year K-GX strategy to mobilize $747 billion
The plan pairs 200 trillion won of direct spending with 570 trillion won of state-backed climate finance, totaling 770 trillion won.
2 stories
- The Wrap
Shell Foundation provides first-loss capital to Lendable Transportation and Energy Fund
The fund targets $200 million and raised $135 million at a first close in December 2025, with senior tranches anchored by IFC, FMO and SIFEM.
- The Wrap
DOE prepares up to $4.2 billion conditional financing for Vistra nuclear uprates
The conditional commitment would support upgrades at Beaver Valley, Davis-Besse and Perry, adding 433 megawatts.
1 story
- The Wrap
Rezolv's €561m Dama Solar debt attracts 14 lenders on EIB guarantee and Romanian CfD
An InvestEU guarantee pairs with contracts for difference covering 520MW of the 1.3GW Romanian build; Zelestra's $350m Meta-PPA credit shows the corporate alternative.
1 story
- The Wrap
Hong Kong prices $2.6 billion tokenized green bond with tokenized deposit settlement
The four-tranche deal drew subscriptions from 1.3 to 11.3 times, with tokenized deposits settling the Hong Kong dollar tranche.
3 stories
- The Wrap
Thailand sells first Asia-Pacific sovereign sustainability-linked bond with nature KPI; Ukraine approves ESG reconstruction roadmap
Thailand's 15-year deal drew subscriptions 2.8 times its $450 million planned size, while Ukraine's 2026–2028 framework carries a taxonomy and monitoring regime with no financing figure attached.
- The Wrap
Urgewald finds UK banks lent $8.3bn to coal as European lending fell 46%
Barclays and HSBC are named among the banks that increased exposure over 2022–2025, as Brussels weighs a delay to methane rules on imported oil and gas.
- The Wrap
CIP's credit platform leads Antora battery equity as NBIM commits to CI VI
Antora also announced an offtake to supply Pratt Energy beginning in 2027.
1 story
- The Wrap
EIB lends to Rezolv solar, Amazon buys Calvert Cliffs power, Stegra warns Boden costs more
Contracted offtake underpins the EIB loan and Amazon's 20-year PPA, while Stegra's Boden steel plant says completion will cost significantly more.
2 stories
- The Wrap
Nest replaces 1,000-stock EM book with 100-150 as NYC boards weigh $5bn climate allocation
Nest says it chose Wellington's mandate for engagement capability, while the boards of three New York City pension funds will run independent fiduciary reviews of the proposed climate allocation.
- The Wrap
FCA drops mandatory climate proposal and extends comply-or-explain to ISSB-aligned UK standards
Final rules cover climate and general sustainability for accounting periods starting January 1, 2027, with initial reports due in 2028.
2 stories
- Products
EIB and BNP Paribas split $794m grid guarantee; Achmea and ILX plan debt vehicle
Each bank takes up to $397 million of exposure inside a $1.70 billion package supported by InvestEU, while only two of the week's six announcements report money raised.
- The Wrap
Reverion raises $175m for a fuel-cell factory and Italy sells €8bn green bond
Most of the Munich spin-off's round funds a plant that lifts annual capacity tenfold to 250 MW, alongside a $3.3bn UK fusion package and a £4bn grid body due to be announced.
1 story
- The Wrap
EU green-claims fines take effect before verification infrastructure exists
The ISO net-zero draft failed its member vote after a 12-week consultation drew nearly 5,000 comments, and ESMA will not supervise ESG rating providers until 2027.
1 story
- The Wrap
EU generic green-claims ban takes effect, fines can reach 4 percent of annual revenue
The directive bars generic environmental claims and offset-based carbon-neutral labels, and requires independent verification of advertised future climate targets.
2 stories
- The Wrap
Transition capital repriced the wire, not the data hall
Ares bought the offtake, Exelon bought the supplier, and New York's owners bought a way around the meter — the interconnection queue is now the underwriting variable.
- The Wrap
Allocators write their own climate rules as regulators retreat
La Caisse's $164 billion self-defined allocation and BlackRock's reporting-based bpfBouw mandate put standard-setting in the hands of institutions.
2 stories
- The Wrap
Transition's first loss moves to private balance sheets
A family office, an energy supplier and a utility are writing the junior cheques development banks were built to hold, while state money keeps buying one project at a time.
- The Wrap
A $5 billion climate pitch three boards must price
The comptroller’s number becomes an allocation only after three separate fiduciary reviews decide whether anchoring a pipeline that Levine says federal inaction has starved is worth underwriting.
2 stories
- Products
The sustainable label now names who absorbs the first loss
Mombak’s $150 million close, Nigeria’s $300 million of public money, and a state lender inside a $140 million Mercia Ventures vehicle all disclose who absorbs the first loss before they disclose what the fund owns.
- The Wrap
The carbon trade has moved from tons to proof
ADM, Verdane, Metris and the 45Z credit are each pricing the audit trail, not the underlying asset.
1 story
- The Wrap
Offtake is the new project finance
Purchase contracts underwrite construction cash flows; state equity steps in where the buyer is missing.
2 stories
- The Wrap
A $63 million climate fund can't follow its $45 million deal
The private fund shelf is now the follow-on capital pool, and wealth platforms are underwriting co-investment capacity by default.
- The Wrap
First-time climate funds are scouting deals they cannot fund
Pulse Fund's $63 million close, measured against a $45 million project its portfolio company needs and a week of $600 million balance-sheet deals, shows why transition capital bypasses the funds that find the projects.
1 story
- The Wrap
Development banks are pricing transition risk
The $2.86 billion Brazil package and the EIB's nuclear guarantee are the same trade: public capital priced to pull commercial lenders into assets they have so far avoided.