Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in
AnalysisInfrastructureThe WrapThe Momentum

SoftBank asks PJM to study 10-GW Ohio data center complex under state agreement

The filing pairs 9.6 GW of added load with 10.2 GW of SB Energy gas-fired generation through 2032 and three new AEP Ohio 765-kV lines.

At a glance

  1. The study would run through the state agreement approach rather than a standard interconnection queue request, evaluating load and generation as one package.
  2. Oracle and Google each moved data center power projects forward this week with generation already attached.
  3. PowerHouse and Big Watt won approval in Taylor, Texas for a 1-gigawatt gas-backed campus on 664 acres in Williamson County.

SoftBank has asked PJM to study a 10-gigawatt data center complex in Ohio under a state agreement approach.

The filing shows 9.6 GW of added load, 10.2 GW of SB Energy gas-fired generation through 2032, and three new AEP Ohio 765-kilovolt lines.

The study would run through the state agreement approach rather than a standard interconnection queue request, evaluating load and generation as one package. The generation is sized above the load it would serve, and the three 765-kV lines would be new construction.

Oracle and Google each moved data center power projects forward this week with generation already attached. Oracle asked FERC to expedite a 17.8-mile gas pipeline in New Mexico, the Green Chile line, to carry about 400 million cubic feet a day to on-site fuel cells for Project Jupiter. Google signed a 20-year power purchase agreement with American Electric Power for a 702-megawatt Wyoming fuel cell plant; AEP owns 92% of Cheyenne Fuel Cell and funds advised by Basalt Infrastructure Partners own 8%. The power price was not disclosed.

PowerHouse and Big Watt won approval in Taylor, Texas for a 1-gigawatt gas-backed campus on 664 acres in Williamson County. The campus pairs a 750-megawatt on-site plant with a 500-megawatt first phase and first power targeted for the first half of 2028. SoftBank's Ohio request is roughly ten times that load.

Reported by The Wrap desk from our tracking (deal log) and Data Center Dynamics. Published . Corrections

Related

Infrastructure

NERC stakeholders back draft reliability rules for 50MW-plus compute loads

The draft covers 50 MW-plus AI data centers and crypto miners at 100 kV or above; the next step is the NERC board, then FERC.

Infrastructure

Google signs 20-year power purchase agreement with American Electric Power for 702MW Wyoming fuel cell plant

AEP owns 92% of Cheyenne Fuel Cell and funds advised by Basalt Infrastructure Partners own 8%; the power price is not disclosed.

Infrastructure

Washington's grid money stops buying new corridors

The $1.9 billion SPARK package buys 23 gigawatts on lines that already exist, turning the data center buildout's power schedule into a question of tariff design.

Infrastructure

Google and Voltus expand PJM virtual power plant to 1,170 MW

The expansion adds 1,070 MW to the June 100 MW program, with a three-to-four-year ramp and a 2040 term.

Infrastructure

Anthropic in talks for second 460MW lease at Nscale's West Virginia campus

The reported $45 billion contract would double Anthropic's committed capacity at Monarch to 920MW; Microsoft already holds 1.35GW there.

Private Infrastructure Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Energy transition, digital infrastructure and core-plus funds. Weekdays at 7:25 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections