Skip to content
Monday, October 26, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETMon, Oct 26 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in
AnalysisAdvisorsThe Advisor's NoteThe Advisor's NoteOpinion

Raymond James names Kirk Bell to lead independent contractor unit

Bell starts April 1, 2027, and Raymond James also named Scott Curtis COO and said Tarek Helal becomes chief strategy officer.

At a glance

  1. The coverage gives no effective date for either of those two roles, so the only dated handover in the group is Bell's move into the contractor division.
  2. For advisors weighing the independent contractor channel, the appointment names the executive who owns recruiting terms, payout questions and platform requests from April 1, 2027.
  3. Recruiting in the same channel is active elsewhere.

Raymond James named Kirk Bell president of its independent contractor division effective April 1, 2027, and said Shannon Reid exits that role.

Raymond James also named Scott Curtis chief operating officer and said Tarek Helal becomes chief strategy officer. The coverage gives no effective date for either of those two roles, so the only dated handover in the group is Bell's move into the contractor division.

For advisors weighing the independent contractor channel, the appointment names the executive who owns recruiting terms, payout questions and platform requests from April 1, 2027. That is the date to check against any transition timetable, service commitment or repapering schedule that runs past this year.

Recruiting in the same channel is active elsewhere. Osaic recruited James A. Costabile from LPL Financial as a managing partner, bringing a team with $2.3 billion in assets, and added Freehold Wealth Management from Stifel Independent Advisors with $576 million in assets. Both moves carry the same Oct. 26 date in the tracked activity as the Raymond James executive changes.

What the Raymond James reshuffle does not settle is how the contractor division's reporting lines change once Bell starts. Curtis as COO and Helal as chief strategy officer sit above a division whose president will change on a fixed date, and the material available does not describe the chain of command between them.

Reported by The Advisor's Note desk from internal newsroom graph query (tracked activity and facts). Published . Corrections

Related

Advisors

Osaic adds $2.3 billion ICG next from LPL, keeping firm's brand

The Wall Township, New Jersey firm has roughly 21 advisors, a Melville, New York office, and has almost tripled in size since 2019, according to the announcement.

Advisors

ICG next leaves LPL for Osaic with $2.3 billion and acquisition plans

The Wall Township, N.J., firm launched at LPL in 2019 and now has about 21 advisors; transition payments and payout terms were not disclosed.

Advisors

Freehold Wealth moves $576M practice to Osaic from Stifel

Mary Steele, the founders' daughter, cited Osaic's succession-planning resources as a reason for the move.

Advisors

Betterment survey: 75% of advised investors use AI

3% of the 1,001 surveyed would consider an AI replacement advisor, Betterment Advisor Solutions found.

Advisors

SEC clears Finra rule letting broker-dealers market projected returns

Finra's Rule 2210 ban becomes conditional, but approval conditions and the effective date are not specified.

Wealth Advisor Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Practice management, recruiting, RIA M&A and the platforms advisors run on. Daily at 6:45 a.m. ET.

Free. Every morning. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections