Skip to content
Monday, October 26, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETMon, Oct 26 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in
PWD View, OpinionThe CloseThe Close

Fidelity's $100 million floor meets Anthropic's $4,800 minimum

Custody is priced on assets; the software layer above it is now priced on seats, calls and commitments.

At a glance

  1. Anthropic's Claude carries a $4,800 minimum and 20 seats, terms that surfaced on a Claude webinar days before Schwab's IMPACT conference, where Schwab's 11,000 RIAs meet both firms.
  2. A firm below Fidelity's line has a dated alternative: Betterment and Axos are pitching the 706 that fall short, and Betterment's wrap-fee waiver for Fidelity RIAs runs through June 30, 2027.
  3. Fidelity set a threshold: clear $100 million or sit outside the relationship.

Fidelity's $100 million custody minimum leaves 706 of its 986 RIA relationships below the line, according to Private Wealth Daily's reporting.

Anthropic's Claude carries a $4,800 minimum and 20 seats, terms that surfaced on a Claude webinar days before Schwab's IMPACT conference, where Schwab's 11,000 RIAs meet both firms. Orion will charge vendors for API access. Salesforce will meter AI calls. A WealthManagement.com column says the RIA nearly always pays in the end, via a surcharge, a dropped connector or roadmap spending.

A firm below Fidelity's line has a dated alternative: Betterment and Axos are pitching the 706 that fall short, and Betterment's wrap-fee waiver for Fidelity RIAs runs through June 30, 2027. The software side carries no comparable expiry in any of the disclosures. The seat minimum, the API charge and the metered call land as line items in the advisor's own budget, and the firm pays them before the client has asked for the capability.

Four ways to charge, one firm that pays

This week's pricing records sort into four mechanisms. Fidelity set a threshold: clear $100 million or sit outside the relationship. Anthropic set a commitment: 20 seats at $4,800. Salesforce and Orion set a meter, billed by the call. FINNY set a share of the assets the platform helps win, a rate the figures released do not state. A threshold, a commitment, a meter and a take rate all push the same risk onto the firm that signs.

ChargeDisclosed termsWho bears it
Fidelity custody minimum$100 million; 706 of 986 RIA relationships belowThe 706 firms
Anthropic Claude$4,800 minimum; 20 seatsThe subscribing RIA
FINNY AI seat$50 a month per advisor; 250-plus advisorsVisionary Square, for partner firms
Orion API accessCharged to vendors; amount not statedThe RIA, per WealthManagement.com
Salesforce AI callsMetered; amount not statedThe RIA, per WealthManagement.com

Figures are as disclosed in Private Wealth Daily's reporting this week and in WealthManagement.com's account of the Orion and Salesforce changes. Sanctuary Wealth, meanwhile, added bQuest aging-care tools for its partner firms; the coverage did not include pricing.

Anthropic's $4,800 minimum across 20 seats works out to $240 a seat, and the minimum, not the unit price, is what bites: a two-advisor practice buying Claude is buying 10 seats per advisor. FINNY's $50 a month is $600 a year per advisor, and Visionary Square will cover it for 250-plus advisors, which is $12,500 a month at 250 seats and $150,000 a year if the roster holds there.

Visionary Square's deal carries a second charge the released figures leave blank: FINNY also takes an unstated share of the assets those advisors win through the platform. A hybrid RIA with 250-plus advisors can absorb a seat fee to keep partner firms on its platform. The seat is the visible half of the price; the asset share is the half that scales with the advisor's own success.

That asymmetry is the argument. Seat pricing rewards whoever buys in bulk. A 250-advisor network spreads the same $50 across a book it already owns, while a two-advisor firm pays the fee and clears a 20-seat minimum for the same access. Custody minimums have always worked that way. Software meters now do too, and the standalone firm meets both on one budget.

Vanguard moved the other way in the same week. It auto-enrolled $1 million to $10 million self-directed clients in Flagship, restored a dedicated consultant, and now counts non-Vanguard funds toward the $1 million minimum. Fidelity narrowed who meets its custody threshold; Vanguard widened what counts toward its service level. The floor is a live variable at both firms, which is the part an advisor weighing a move can actually price.

Client demand has not moved at that speed. 43% of investors say they are unlikely to switch for better AI tools, according to a KPMG/SIFMA study, with resistance up 8 points, while trust in advisors as a primary source rose to 52%. Fitch scores standalone advisory firms at 40 out of 100 on AI disruption risk, the same score it gives retail and private banks and double the 20 it assigns corporate and investment banks and insurers. The firms Fitch marks twice as exposed as the big banks serve clients who say better tools would not move them.

The meters are landing on the connection layer. Syntax sends custom indices into Schwab's iRebal, letting advisors build them under single sign-on and run them as account-level models, WealthManagement.com reported. Building a model inside the custodian's tool is a capability rather than a fee, until whoever owns the connection prices it — which is what Orion and Salesforce have started to do. Vendor dependence now carries a clock as well: under Reg S-P, a website vendor has 72 hours to report a breach to the firm, which then has 30 days to notify clients.

Three questions now separate one platform contract from another: what is the minimum commitment, what unit gets billed, and does the vendor take a share of the assets the tool helps win. The custody pitch meeting rarely reaches them.

The custody minimum and the AI seat are the same instrument. Both convert a service that used to be bundled into a threshold, both are set by the vendor rather than negotiated with the firm that pays, and both hit the P&L in the same budget year. The 706 firms below Fidelity's $100 million line are not an edge case in that model. They are the market the next round of platform pricing is written for.

Fitch rates standalone advisory firms 40/100 on AI disruption risk

Level with retail and private banks; double the score for corporate banks and insurers

  • Standalone advisory firms40 score (0–100)
  • Retail and private banks40 score (0–100)
  • Corporate and investment banks20 score (0–100)
  • Insurers20 score (0–100)
Source: Fitch Ratings · via PWD reporting, Oct 2026
Show as table
ItemValue (score (0–100))
Standalone advisory firms40 score (0–100)
Retail and private banks40 score (0–100)
Corporate and investment banks20 score (0–100)
Insurers20 score (0–100)

Reported by PWD Editors from Private Wealth Daily, WealthManagement.com, KPMG/SIFMA study and Fitch Ratings. Published . Corrections

Do you agree?

Related

PWD View, OpinionThe Close

Claude sets $4,800 seat minimum; FINNY's $50 fee adds asset share

Visionary Square pays the fee for 250-plus advisors; FINNY takes a share of assets won at an unstated rate.

Features

Fidelity's $100 million custody minimum leaves 706 of 986 RIA relationships below it

Betterment and Axos are pitching the 706 firms that fall short, and Betterment's wrap-fee waiver for Fidelity RIAs runs through June 30, 2027.

By the Numbers

Fidelity extends $100M custody minimum to 986 RIA relationships

ADV data show 706 affected firms hold less than $100 million across all custodians; Betterment and Axos are pitching them.

PWD View, OpinionThe Close

Mariner seeks $150M term loan add-on, lifting debt to $1.3B

Moody's projects 6.7x debt/EBITDA and says ratings are unaffected.

PWD View, OpinionThe Close

Orion to charge vendors for API access; Salesforce to meter AI calls

A WealthManagement.com column says the RIA nearly always pays, via a surcharge, a dropped connector or roadmap spending.

Private Wealth DailyThe morning edition

The private wealth industry in four minutes, every morning at 6:30 a.m. ET. Free.

Free. Every morning. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections