Concurrent announces Spire platform purchase, adding $5.4 billion with no price disclosed
The Tampa hybrid says the announced purchase brings more than 30 advisor teams; across four wealth additions this week, $8.55 billion in client assets are named.
Concurrent Investment Advisors announced this week that it will acquire the platform of Spire Investment Partners, adding more than 30 advisor teams and about $5.4 billion in client assets to a Tampa-based hybrid that put its own total at $28.6 billion pro forma for the transaction, up from $16.8 billion at the start of the year. The announcement named no purchase price. Concurrent describes Spire as its first platform purchase and says it wants one or two such deals a year, each in the $3 billion-to-$10 billion range, which publishes the size of the checks it intends to write and leaves the terms of them unstated.
At 30 teams, $5.4 billion works out to roughly $180 million of client assets per team, and less than that if the count runs higher — a density at which the platform, not the firm's own brand, is the thing being bought. The distance between the January total and the pro forma figure is $11.8 billion, of which Spire accounts for $5.4 billion, and the coverage does not itemize the remainder. Growth of that shape, 70% on the January number by the firm's own pro forma math, is what a hybrid RIA puts at the top of a release. What the announcement lays out is the part that travels: teams, client assets, a target band for the next purchases. The one figure that would show what Concurrent will pay for a book of client relationships goes unmentioned.
Concurrent kept company in the omissions and in the scale. HB Wealth, an Atlanta fee-only firm, closed its purchase of Wealth Care, a $700 million Austin RIA with a two-generation team serving physicians, on Sept. 30, in the buyer's seventh market, and did not disclose terms. Hightower Signature Wealth announced the addition of Sandy Cove Advisors and its $752 million, a third external acquisition of 2026, expected to close at the end of the third quarter and put the unit above $40 billion. Cerity Partners added Cornerstone Capital and Echo Wealth Management, $1.7 billion between them and a Minneapolis foothold, Cornerstone carrying a Palo Alto client book nearly 50 years old.
Serial buyers are the ones setting the template. Hightower Signature's third external acquisition of 2026 would push that unit past $40 billion, and HB Wealth's seventh market came in a transaction it closed on the last day of September. Neither the cadence nor the geography is in dispute. The consideration, in each case, is not part of the public description.
Those four additions name $8.55 billion in client assets. The coverage of the Concurrent deal states that no purchase price was disclosed and that the HB Wealth terms were not disclosed; the Hightower and Cerity items appear with their assets and no mention of price at all.
| Buyer | Addition | Named assets |
|---|---|---|
| Concurrent Investment Advisors | Spire Investment Partners platform | $5.4 billion |
| Cerity Partners | Cornerstone Capital and Echo Wealth Management | $1.7 billion |
| Hightower Signature Wealth | Sandy Cove Advisors | $752 million |
| HB Wealth | Wealth Care | $700 million |
Where the price column does get filled
Elsewhere in the same window the dollar figures arrived intact. DigitalBridge and SoftBank closed a $3.1 billion deal, and Harrison Street agreed to buy a majority of Vicinity Energy at a $2.92 billion enterprise value. Norges Bank Investment Management announced a $1.2 billion transaction with Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners, and Goldman Sachs announced $661 million with Quantum Development Finance.
Two of those numbers are worth setting beside the RIA deals, because they measure different things. Harrison Street's $2.92 billion is an enterprise value: the stated worth of the business whose majority it agreed to buy. Concurrent's $5.4 billion is what Spire's platform manages, a measure of the thing being transferred rather than of what the transfer cost. For a buyer the distinction is immaterial, since the assets are the assets; for a seller weighing an approach, it is the whole question.
None of this is irregular in RIA consolidation. Assets under management and advisor team counts are the material of an announcement, and price is the material of a valuation — the figure that lets anyone outside the room test what a buyer will pay for client relationships and the revenue they throw off. The difference this week is volume: four wealth additions in one window, $8.55 billion of named assets among them, in a market the coverage describes as one where deal counts are shrinking while the assets in play are not. When the count of transactions falls and the size of each rises, every announcement becomes a comparable for the next one, and a comparable without a price leaves the pricing column empty at the moment there is more to price.
Concurrent's stated appetite gives the pattern a second entry to watch. A firm that plans one or two platform purchases a year, in a band it has set at $3 billion to $10 billion, has published the size of its future checks and nothing else. If its first platform purchase arrived without a price, the second most likely will as well, which keeps the firm's own acquisition record — the most direct evidence of what it is willing to pay — inside the room. Sellers with books of that size now have a stated appetite on one side of the table and no transaction price on the other. What the Spire purchase cost is not in the announcement.
Save this analysis and keep the funds you follow together in My Desk.
Sign in to save articles or follow funds.