Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

Peachtree's $62.5M refi bets on Graduate Nashville's recovery

A three-year loan with two one-year options gives AJ Capital runway and lets Peachtree reprice a recovering asset.

At a glance

  1. CBRE arranged the financing, led by Henry Fenmore, Tom Traynor and Tom Rugg.
  2. The 205-room hotel across the street from Vanderbilt University opened in December 2019 and spent its first year wrestling with pandemic demand, but Peachtree's head of credit originations, Jared Schlosser, told Commercial Observer that performance has improved every month this year.
  3. The location is doing much of the underwriting.

AJ Capital Partners has refinanced its Graduate by Hilton Nashville hotel with a $62.5 million loan from Peachtree Group, a three-year deal carrying two 12-month extension options that gives the borrower runway and the lender a repricing point on a recovering asset. CBRE arranged the financing, led by Henry Fenmore, Tom Traynor and Tom Rugg.

The 205-room hotel across the street from Vanderbilt University opened in December 2019 and spent its first year wrestling with pandemic demand, but Peachtree's head of credit originations, Jared Schlosser, told Commercial Observer that performance has improved every month this year. He credited Hilton's 2024 takeover of Graduate operations — with AJ Capital retaining ownership — for expanding the hotel's base beyond Vanderbilt. “It's a great location, and the performance continues to get better and better each month this year,” Schlosser said. “This is a beautiful hotel with a really good sponsor, so it checked all the boxes for us.”

The location is doing much of the underwriting. Nashville's Midtown submarket sits less than a mile from Music Row and draws business from Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Belmont University and Bridgestone Arena, Schlosser said, and the hotel at 101 20th Avenue North adds a rooftop pool and fitness center. Its White Limozeen rooftop bar, a Dolly Parton-inspired restaurant and lounge, gives it a local following that smooths the peaks and valleys of university demand.

Three years, two options

Three years with two 12-month extensions could stretch the effective maturity to five years, but each option date forces a decision — Peachtree can extend on new terms or call the debt, and AJ Capital can pay off or renegotiate. That is how patient capital works in this cycle: lenders extend current cash flow rather than force distress sales, and the Graduate Nashville loan is a clean example of the refinancing wall being financed, not foreclosed. The structure leaves the borrower in possession while the lender gets a repricing opportunity, a trade that works as long as the hotel's monthly gains keep compounding.

AJ Capital's Graduate brand has grown to 33 hotels near university campuses in the U.S. and the U.K. since its 2014 launch near the University of Georgia, Arizona State University and the University of Mississippi; the Nashville property, which opened into the pandemic, shows how a strong flag and a dense submarket can rehabilitate a debut that went sideways.

Peachtree has been building its hospitality credit book on multiple fronts, and earlier this month the firm passed $525 million in DSTs with hotel and industrial deals. That mix of syndicated equity and direct lending puts Peachtree on both sides of the capital stack, and the Nashville loan looks like a deliberate bet that lodging, at the quality end, still offers yield without headline risk.

The Nashville financing is the latest in a string of recent CBRE debt placements; the firm closed an $11 million loan on Aug. 28, an $87.5 million loan on Aug. 27, and announced a $147.5 million deal on Aug. 25. The cadence suggests a lending market comfortable writing paper again, at least for assets with a story to tell.

Nashville's Midtown momentum still has to carry the loan to its full five-year potential. The extension options are the safety valve: if the recovery stalls, Peachtree can step back at the third anniversary without firing the borrower, a smarter risk than a five-year lock-in. The date to watch is the loan's third anniversary in 2029, when the first extension option comes due and Peachtree decides whether to reprice, extend, or step back.

Reported by the Real estate debt desk from Commercial Observer. Published . Corrections

Related

Real Estate

Apollo lends Brookfield $130.5M for a Rialto logistics build

Commercial Observer first reported the five-year construction loan for a 664,859-square-foot Class A project on land that was part of the shuttered Rialto Airport.

Real Estate

Ares Real Estate refinances 599-unit apartment pair with $107.5M SMBC loan

CBRE arranged the debt across Axis 110 in Richardson, Texas and Skye 750 in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania; terms were not disclosed.

Real Estate

Fifth Wall's roughly 115 LPs include CBRE, Hilton, Hines and Marriott

Commercial Observer's profile of Brendan Wallace tallies about $3.1 billion across roughly 115 partners, a roster of property owners and operators that doubles as the firm's potential customer base.

Real Estate

Dwight lends $73M to refinance 368-unit Reno apartments

Bridge Investment Group and Pacific Development borrowed the bridge loan, which funded an interest reserve and returned equity.

Real Estate

KKR supplies $95 million 10-year loan for Brooklyn apartments

Bridge, Declaration Partners and Avery Hall are the sponsors; coupon and spread were not disclosed.

Private Real Estate Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Non-traded REITs, data centers, industrial and manager fundraising. Weekdays at 7:20 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections