Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

M&G Real Estate names Duncan Batty head of real estate finance

Batty spent 12 years at the firm, ultimately as co-head of real estate finance, and returns from building Revolut's commercial real estate lending business.

At a glance

  1. In his first M&G spell he spent 12 years, ending as co-head of real estate finance and earning credit for a key role in building and growing the platform.
  2. Before Revolut, where he was head of commercial real estate lending and responsible for establishing and developing that firm’s CRE lending business, Batty worked as a real estate finance lawyer advising lenders and borrowers across U.K. and European transactions.
  3. The appointment lands in an active stretch for M&G’s equity side.

M&G Real Estate has appointed Duncan Batty as head of real estate finance, IREI reported, bringing a former co-head of that platform back to run it after a detour building Revolut’s commercial real estate lending business. In his first M&G spell he spent 12 years, ending as co-head of real estate finance and earning credit for a key role in building and growing the platform.

Before Revolut, where he was head of commercial real estate lending and responsible for establishing and developing that firm’s CRE lending business, Batty worked as a real estate finance lawyer advising lenders and borrowers across U.K. and European transactions. He brings more than two decades of European real estate finance experience.

The appointment lands in an active stretch for M&G’s equity side. PWD’s tracking shows three transactions in the five weeks before the announcement: the £29 million buy that pushed its Affordable Living Fund into the deepest affordability tier for the first time, a €28.6 million forward funding north of Paris that tested a separate-account mandate, and the sale of Frontier Shinjuku Tower 15 months early after a 23% NOI gain, with price and buyer undisclosed.

Origination inside an equity platform

Handing the finance seat to a lending specialist tells you something about where the pipeline is pointed, though the report describes the title, not the mandate, and it does not say what the finance function actually runs — a debt fund, a lending programme, or the funding lines behind the property books. Large managers have been moving underwriting from acquisitions toward development to capture scarcity pricing, and the bottleneck on that trade, as this publication has argued, is construction debt partners rather than land or appetite. A manager with M&G’s private markets platform behind it, sized at €96 billion in our earlier reporting, has the option of originating part of that debt itself, and Batty’s Revolut years, standing up a lender from nothing, are the closest thing the record offers to evidence that the intent is origination rather than simply financing the equity side’s own deals — though the coverage never says so.

Still unaddressed is the shape of the team: whether he inherits a finance function or builds one, and who carried the title between his departure and his return, a period the report does not describe. The role he now holds alone is one he last held jointly. For credit readers, the test is whether M&G’s next European transaction arrives with an in-house loan attached; that would mark the point where a personnel line becomes balance-sheet lending rather than the end of a search.

Reported by the Real estate debt desk from IREI and PRED archive and entity records. Published . Corrections

Related

Real Estate

M&G European Living Property Fund buys 173 Paris apartments from Gecina for €67m

The off-market purchase is the fund's 10th investment and second in France.

Real Estate

Barings names Germany a top pick as office prices sit 46% below peak

BauMont has entered the German market with a €70 million Munich residential buy, and Oxford Economics expects industrial to lead German returns.

Real Estate

M&G Real Estate sells Frontier Shinjuku Tower 15 months early after 23% NOI gain

The 298-unit Nishi-Shinjuku building was bought in December 2023 under M&G's value-added mandate; the sale price and buyer were not disclosed.

Real Estate

Dwight lends $73M to refinance 368-unit Reno apartments

Bridge Investment Group and Pacific Development borrowed the bridge loan, which funded an interest reserve and returned equity.

Real Estate

KKR supplies $95 million 10-year loan for Brooklyn apartments

Bridge, Declaration Partners and Avery Hall are the sponsors; coupon and spread were not disclosed.

Private Real Estate Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Non-traded REITs, data centers, industrial and manager fundraising. Weekdays at 7:20 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections