Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

Israel's Electricity Authority caps new data center connection capacity at 200MW, with per-megawatt guarantees

The reported rules follow a queue of about 27GW of projects and require NIS 2 million ($643,300) in guarantees per megawatt requested.

At a glance

  1. Developers will have to provide guarantees of NIS 2 million ($643,300) for every megawatt of connection capacity they request.
  2. At the stated rate, a project requesting the full 200MW would need guarantees of about $129 million.
  3. NOGA, the national system operator, said it had about 27GW of projects seeking a grid connection.

Israel's Electricity Authority has capped new data center connection capacity at 200MW, Data Center Dynamics reported on 19 October, citing Calcalistech.

Developers will have to provide guarantees of NIS 2 million ($643,300) for every megawatt of connection capacity they request. They must also install backup mechanisms that allow data centers to be disconnected from the grid during periods of high demand.

At the stated rate, a project requesting the full 200MW would need guarantees of about $129 million.

NOGA, the national system operator, said it had about 27GW of projects seeking a grid connection. In July it issued a temporary order freezing responses to data center requests of 8MW or more. That freeze is expected to run until early December while the Electricity Authority, the Ministry of Energy and NOGA complete a joint review of how to divide power between data centers and the rest of the economy.

Alongside the cap, the authority said it would allocate an additional 1GW to large data centers, lifting the sector's contracted capacity above 3GW. If realized, that would account for around 20% of the country's electricity consumption in 2030.

Officials traced the surge in connection requests to the National Cyber Defense Bill, passed by the Knesset in February, which designated data centers as national infrastructure in order to remove planning and construction constraints. They described the cap and guarantee requirement as the policy response.

The report does not specify whether the 200MW cap applies per project, per site, or per developer, which determines whether a sponsor can stack multiple campuses inside the cap.

The rules are not final. A full decision is slated for publication in the coming days, following a three-week public consultation.

Israel's new 200MW data center cap against the grid queue

Capacity in megawatts

200 MWCap per new request3K MWData center capacity contracted27K MWProjects seeking grid connection200 MWCap per new request3K MW27K MWProjects seeking grid connection200 MWCap per new request3K MW27K MWProjects seeking grid connection
Source: Data Center Dynamics, citing Calcalistech · Oct
Show as table
LabelValue (MW)
Cap per new request200 MW
Data center capacity contracted3K MW
Projects seeking grid connection27K MW

Reported by the Data centers & fiber desk from Data Center Dynamics. Published . Corrections

Related

Infrastructure

Crusoe plans 106MW Paraguay data center in first Latin America move

The site beside the Itaipú substation would serve Crusoe Cloud, with a first phase targeted for mid-2027.

Infrastructure

Crusoe and Polar DC to build 40MW second building at Norway campus

The Tørdal project sits beside a live 12MW facility hosting Crusoe Cloud AI infrastructure, though no construction timeline is given.

Infrastructure

Crusoe files for a $4.8bn data center campus in Jayton, Texas

The two buildings are slated to go live in 2029, and the filings name no tenant, landowner or power source.

Infrastructure

Switzerland publishes up to CHF 7bn government cloud tender

Two public-cloud tiers cap at CHF 2 billion each and the private lot at CHF 3 billion; awards due summer 2027.

Infrastructure

gFiber to take over Ting's Colorado Springs dark fiber lease

Terms were not disclosed; Ting will keep serving Colorado Springs customers until the transition completes, no later than June 30, 2027.

Private Infrastructure Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Energy transition, digital infrastructure and core-plus funds. Weekdays at 7:25 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections