Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

AEP, Amazon and X-energy explore 960-MW Indiana nuclear project

Amazon would buy the power under a contract covering the facility's cost and operations if it is built; no price, term or schedule was disclosed.

At a glance

  1. If the project is built and enters commercial operation, Amazon would buy the power under a long-term contract that covers the facility's cost and operations, the companies said.
  2. The project would use 12 of X-energy's Xe-100 small modular reactors, each rated at 80 megawatts.
  3. Breed was an Indiana Michigan Power generating station, and Indiana Michigan Power is an AEP utility.

American Electric Power, Amazon and X-energy are exploring a 960-megawatt advanced nuclear project at the former Breed Generating Station coal site in Sullivan County, Indiana, the companies said Monday.

If the project is built and enters commercial operation, Amazon would buy the power under a long-term contract that covers the facility's cost and operations, the companies said. They described the effort as exploring development rather than a commitment to build and did not disclose a price, contract length, ownership split, capital cost or schedule.

The project would use 12 of X-energy's Xe-100 small modular reactors, each rated at 80 megawatts. That configuration produces the 960-megawatt total.

Breed was an Indiana Michigan Power generating station, and Indiana Michigan Power is an AEP utility. Sullivan County participates in the Indiana Advanced Nuclear Ready Communities Program, which the Indiana Office of Energy Development administers and which identifies communities that have taken "measurable steps" to welcome advanced nuclear development. Gov. Mike Braun said the project could strengthen the state's grid and "position Indiana as a national leader in advanced nuclear energy."

Indiana regulators approved large-load interconnection rules last year, accepting a pact offered by Indiana Michigan Power, Amazon Data Services, Google, Microsoft and other parties. In that decision, the utility projected Indiana peak load would climb to more than 7,000 megawatts by 2030 from 2,800 megawatts.

Bill Fehrman, AEP's chairman, president and chief executive, said the agreements with Amazon and X-energy provide "all necessary capital protections and financial safeguards that we have said are essential for any potential nuclear project to move forward."

Amazon's other nuclear deal

Utility Dive reported the Indiana plan as Amazon's second nuclear announcement in as many weeks. On Sept. 30, the company announced a 20-year, 690-megawatt power purchase agreement with Constellation Energy to expand and improve the Calvert Cliffs plant in Maryland. Josh Weissman, Amazon's vice president of data center infrastructure capacity delivery, said the company is working toward net-zero carbon across its operations by 2040 and is "looking to develop nearly a gigawatt of carbon-free power for the regional grid and pay our full costs without passing them to others."

Reported by the Energy Transition desk from Utility Dive. Published . Corrections

Related

Infrastructure

Amazon and AEP agree to explore 960MW of X-energy reactors in Indiana

Amazon would fund the project and buy the first power from 12 Xe-100 units rated at 80MW each.

Infrastructure

Google signs 20-year power purchase agreement with American Electric Power for 702MW Wyoming fuel cell plant

AEP owns 92% of Cheyenne Fuel Cell and funds advised by Basalt Infrastructure Partners own 8%; the power price is not disclosed.

Infrastructure

Amazon withdraws Ashburn data center application after Loudoun talks

Amazon keeps the 122-acre GWU campus it bought for $427 million and will dedicate roughly 25 acres to the county, valued at about $65 million.

Infrastructure

Krolmap plans 225MW data center campus in Spain

Six buildings across 25 hectares in the La Legua industrial park; on-site generation would supply power, with capacity and tenants not yet published.

Infrastructure

Commerce signs $389m in power-semiconductor R&D letters of intent

Helion is in line for up to $175 million and Commonwealth Fusion Systems up to $85 million for fusion power electronics, Data Center Dynamics reports.

Private Infrastructure Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Energy transition, digital infrastructure and core-plus funds. Weekdays at 7:25 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections