Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

Nuveen secures A$1bn first close for Australian real estate debt; CPP Investments commits A$300m

CPP Investments and Temasek return after backing the prior vintage, which closed in May 2025 with A$650 million in equity commitments.

At a glance

  1. Canada Pension Plan Investment Board committed A$300 million (US$209 million) through its subsidiary CPPIB Credit Investments Inc., with Temasek investing alongside.
  2. The A$1 billion figure counts co-investment vehicles and transactions alongside fund equity, so it is not directly comparable to the prior vintage's A$650 million (US$452 million) in equity commitments at its May 2025 final close.
  3. CPP Investments and Temasek also backed the previous vintage, and the reinvestment extends a Temasek relationship that dates to a September 2025 strategic partnership announced between Nuveen Private Capital and the Singapore investor, according to IREI.

Nuveen Real Estate has secured more than A$1 billion (US$695 million) in total commitments for the first close of its latest Australian commercial real estate debt strategy, IREI reported.

Canada Pension Plan Investment Board committed A$300 million (US$209 million) through its subsidiary CPPIB Credit Investments Inc., with Temasek investing alongside. TIAA, Nuveen's parent company, also participated.

The A$1 billion figure counts co-investment vehicles and transactions alongside fund equity, so it is not directly comparable to the prior vintage's A$650 million (US$452 million) in equity commitments at its May 2025 final close. That earlier vehicle, Nuveen's Australian core-plus debt strategy, has committed to A$2 billion (US$1.39 billion) of gross loan investments across the platform and associated co-investment vehicles, per the report. The disclosed figures do not break out the co-investment and transaction pieces, so the equity component of the new first close cannot be compared directly with the old A$650 million.

CPP Investments and Temasek also backed the previous vintage, and the reinvestment extends a Temasek relationship that dates to a September 2025 strategic partnership announced between Nuveen Private Capital and the Singapore investor, according to IREI.

The commitment lands while CPP Investments' real estate sleeve sat below its 9 percent target, as this publication reported when the pension put €600 million into European real estate funds in August. The Australian commitment runs through the pension's credit subsidiary rather than its equity platform.

The report does not disclose loan-level terms such as leverage, margin or covenants, nor a target size for the strategy. The only disclosed guide to deployment pace remains the prior vintage's A$2 billion of gross loan commitments.

The A$1 billion figure counts co-investment vehicles and transactions alongside fund equity, so it is not directly comparable to the prior vintage's A$650 million (US$452 million) in equity commitments at its May 2025 final close.

Reported by the Real estate debt desk from IREI. Published . Corrections

Related

Real Estate

Nuveen secures A$1 billion first close for Australian real estate debt; CPP Investments commits A$300 million

Temasek returned after backing the prior A$650 million vintage; Tishman Speyer bought a 466-room Vienna student housing block.

Real Estate

Brixmor and Everview agree to take Slate Grocery REIT private at $2.3B

The $13-a-unit price is a 13 percent premium to where the units traded when the strategic review was announced in May and 20 percent above the Wednesday close before distributions were suspended.

Real Estate

Institutions turn to joint ventures for grocery-anchored retail, ICSC report finds

PRED records show a $790 million Oct. 21 closing listing Nuveen Real Estate and PSP Investments, two firms named in the ICSC report.

Real Estate

KKR supplies $95 million 10-year loan for Brooklyn apartments

Bridge, Declaration Partners and Avery Hall are the sponsors; coupon and spread were not disclosed.

Real Estate

Northmarq arranges $95.8M Voya refinancing for E&S Ring's 1,461 Southern California apartments

Six non-cross-collateralized loans replace existing debt on E&S Ring buildings in Brentwood, Culver City, Victorville, Los Feliz and Mid-Wilshire.

Private Real Estate Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Non-traded REITs, data centers, industrial and manager fundraising. Weekdays at 7:20 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections