Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

King Street Properties takes $237.7M Starwood loan for Morrisville life science campus

Connect CRE reports Novartis and Liquid Pharmaceuticals have signed leases at Pathway Triangle's 581,000-square-foot opening phase in Morrisville.

At a glance

  1. Novartis and Liquid Pharmaceuticals have signed leases at the 581,000-square-foot opening phase, giving the note two named tenants while construction is still underway.
  2. Commercial Search, which Connect CRE cites, puts full build-out at seven buildings and more than 950,000 square feet on 75 acres in the Research Triangle.
  3. The earlier report described a campus of nearly 582,000 square feet anchored by Novartis; Connect CRE, publishing a day later, describes the collateral as under construction.

King Street Properties has a $237.7 million loan from Starwood Property Trust for Pathway Triangle, the life science campus it is building in Morrisville, N.C., according to Connect CRE.

Novartis and Liquid Pharmaceuticals have signed leases at the 581,000-square-foot opening phase, giving the note two named tenants while construction is still underway. JLL arranged the debt, the same report says.

Commercial Search, which Connect CRE cites, puts full build-out at seven buildings and more than 950,000 square feet on 75 acres in the Research Triangle. The plan includes two-story buildings on the McCrimmon Parkway extension near Raleigh-Durham International Airport.

This is likely the same financing PRED reported on Oct. 13, when King Street borrowed $237.7 million from Starwood to refinance phase one of a four-building campus. The earlier report described a campus of nearly 582,000 square feet anchored by Novartis; Connect CRE, publishing a day later, describes the collateral as under construction. The distinction matters, because a note funding construction draws and a note against an operating building are different instruments. Connect CRE's report does not state a rate, term, loan-to-cost figure or recourse detail.

Recent life science debt has also leaned on tenant rosters. Blue Light borrowed $62.5 million in September against a Bedford manufacturing campus that was 32 percent leased, with the debt priced for a pipeline rather than an in-place rent roll. Hendrie Lane's Andover R&D purchase cleared with two-thirds leverage on a four-name roster. Pathway Triangle is cleaner: two tenants signed before the buildings finish.

Those leases cover the opening phase. Connect CRE's account names no tenant beyond it, so the leasing risk in the 950,000-square-foot master plan sits in square footage that has no reported commitment behind it.

Reported by the Real estate debt desk from Connect CRE, Commercial Search (cited by Connect CRE) and PRED archive. Published . Corrections

Related

Real Estate

King Street Properties borrows $237.7M from Starwood Property Trust to refinance Morrisville life sciences campus

The loan covers phase one of Pathway Triangle, a four-building campus of nearly 582,000 square feet anchored by Novartis.

Real Estate

Blue Light bets $62.5M on tenant pipeline

The 32%-leased Bedford manufacturing campus gets debt priced for its tenant pipeline, not its current rent roll.

Real Estate

Hendrie Lane's first R&D buy leans on a four-name rent roll

Two-thirds bank leverage on fully leased Andover R&D says the collateral that cleared was the tenant roster, and four names is a thin thing to take into four more markets.

Real Estate

Dwight lends $73M to refinance 368-unit Reno apartments

Bridge Investment Group and Pacific Development borrowed the bridge loan, which funded an interest reserve and returned equity.

Real Estate

KKR supplies $95 million 10-year loan for Brooklyn apartments

Bridge, Declaration Partners and Avery Hall are the sponsors; coupon and spread were not disclosed.

Private Real Estate Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Non-traded REITs, data centers, industrial and manager fundraising. Weekdays at 7:20 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections

King Street Properties takes $237.7M Starwood loan for Morrisville life science campus — Private Wealth Daily