Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

JPI closes land and construction financing for 248-home Dallas income-restricted project

The Torrington Forest development will use 4 percent Low-Income Housing Tax Credits and a ground lease from a City of Dallas housing affiliate; the lender is not named.

At a glance

  1. Of the total, 222 homes are restricted to households earning up to 60 percent of area median income and 13 to households earning up to 70 percent, a tally that accounts for 235 of the 248 homes; the restrictions on the remaining 13 are not stated.
  2. The equity side runs through 4 percent Low-Income Housing Tax Credits administered by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs.
  3. Compliance with the credit program and the restricted rents that follow from it are the visible pieces.

The land and construction loan closed together, and work on JPI's Torrington Forest begins this month: 248 homes on nearly 17 acres at 7100 S. Great Trinity Forest Way in southern Dallas, with completion anticipated in mid-2028. Of the total, 222 homes are restricted to households earning up to 60 percent of area median income and 13 to households earning up to 70 percent, a tally that accounts for 235 of the 248 homes; the restrictions on the remaining 13 are not stated.

The equity side runs through 4 percent Low-Income Housing Tax Credits administered by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs. The land side is public: an affiliate of the City of Dallas Housing Finance Corporation ground-leases the site to the development partnership under a long-term agreement, and the HFC serves as that partnership's general partner.

222 of 248 Torrington Forest homes reserved at 60% AMI

Homes by income restriction, southern Dallas

222 homesUp to 60% AMI13 homesUp to 70% AMI13 homesRestriction not stated222 homesUp to 60% AMI13 homesUp to 70% AMI13 homesRestriction not stated222 homesUp to 60% AMI13 homes13 homesRestriction not stated
Source: Connect CRE · Texas Dept. of Housing and Community Affairs
Show as table
LabelValue (homes)
Up to 60% AMI222 homes
Up to 70% AMI13 homes
Restriction not stated13 homes

A city housing finance corporation as landlord and general partner

That dual role is heavier than a pass-through subsidy; it shapes what a construction lender is actually pricing. Compliance with the credit program and the restricted rents that follow from it are the visible pieces. Beneath them sits a counterparty at the top of the structure, above the partnership rather than beside it, and because the site is ground-leased, the construction loan's collateral runs to a leasehold interest rather than the fee unless the documents provide otherwise—a point the report does not address. The report also does not name the lender, the loan amount, the term, or the leverage. The financing closed anyway; construction debt was available for an income-restricted Dallas deal with a 2028 delivery, but the terms that would let a credit desk price it are missing.

Delivery lands in mid-2028, inside the 2028-29 window this publication has argued patient apartment capital is already underwriting. The comparison has limits: income-restricted stock financed with tax credits does not clear on market rent growth the way market-rate product does. Restricted rents and credit pricing set the revenue line, and the compliance calendar sets the risk, so Torrington Forest takes the calendar of the supply-gap trade without taking its economics, with the land and the credit allocation doing work that rent growth does elsewhere.

The four-story building will include a fitness center, a swimming pool, a community room, and a business center, and 6.3 acres of the site are preserved as open space through a conservation easement. Whether the same lender carried both the land and the construction pieces is not stated.

Reported by the Real estate debt desk from Connect CRE. Published . Corrections

Related

Real Estate

Griffin paid $1.1 billion for Wynwood land in a wave of pre-construction deals

Vestar wins a $3 billion Mesa approval and Massachusetts awards $330 million for unbuilt housing

Real Estate

Värde closes $65.5 million floating-rate refinancing on Phoenix single-family rental community near TSMC

The three-year loan on the 240-unit Village at Sonoran Vista, completed in January, carries two one-year extension options and was arranged by WAY Capital.

Real Estate

JPI plans 397 apartments near TSMC in Phoenix, but won't start until next spring

The fourth phase at City North would deepen a 2,500-unit residential core while JPI waits to read Mill Creek's third-phase lease-up.

Real Estate

Northmarq arranges $95.8M Voya refinancing for E&S Ring's 1,461 Southern California apartments

Six non-cross-collateralized loans replace existing debt on E&S Ring buildings in Brentwood, Culver City, Victorville, Los Feliz and Mid-Wilshire.

Real Estate

Newmark launches multifamily bridge program with $35M Georgia loan

The first loan is a $35 million refinancing of MFP Capital's 264-unit Independence Place in Hinesville, Ga., Commercial Observer reports.

Private Real Estate Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Non-traded REITs, data centers, industrial and manager fundraising. Weekdays at 7:20 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections