Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

Japan's Pension Fund Association lifts alternative holdings to about $19bn

Alternatives reached 21.3 per cent of the basic pension portfolio and 31.7 per cent of the corporate pension portfolio in the year to March 2026.

At a glance

  1. Total alternative holdings increased about 14 per cent from ¥2.63trn in March 2025, and overall pension assets grew ¥838.6bn to ¥13.76trn ($87bn).
  2. The report gives the aggregate alternative increase rather than an asset-class split, so the amount reaching debt strategies is not disclosed.
  3. The disclosures report holdings rather than commitments, so part of the 14 per cent increase may reflect valuation gains rather than new private credit demand.

Japan's Pension Fund Association lifted its alternative investment holdings to about ¥3trn ($19bn) in the year to March 2026, according to its latest pension investment report covered by Alternative Credit Investor.

Alternatives reached 21.3 per cent of the basic pension portfolio, up from 20 per cent a year earlier, while the combined corporate pension portfolio's alternative weight rose to 31.7 per cent from 27 per cent. Total alternative holdings increased about 14 per cent from ¥2.63trn in March 2025, and overall pension assets grew ¥838.6bn to ¥13.76trn ($87bn).

The report gives the aggregate alternative increase rather than an asset-class split, so the amount reaching debt strategies is not disclosed. The alternatives book spans private equity, hedge funds, real estate, infrastructure and income-focused strategies; the income-focused bucket includes infrastructure debt, direct lending, asset leasing and other alternative financing arrangements.

The disclosures report holdings rather than commitments, so part of the 14 per cent increase may reflect valuation gains rather than new private credit demand.

Alternatives share of Japan's PFA portfolios, Mar 2025 vs Mar 2026

Corporate pension exposure is both higher and rising faster

20%Basic pension · Mar 202521.3%Basic pension · Mar 202627%Corporate pension · Mar 202531.7%Corporate pension · Mar 202620%Basic pension · Mar 202521.3%27%31.7%Corporate pension · Mar 202620%Basic pension · Mar 202521.3%27%31.7%Corporate pension · Mar 2026
Source: PFA pension investment report via Alternative Credit Investor · Mar 2026
Show as table
LabelValue (%)
Basic pension · Mar 202520%
Basic pension · Mar 202621.3%
Corporate pension · Mar 202527%
Corporate pension · Mar 202631.7%

Reported by the Who's investing desk from Alternative Credit Investor. Published . Corrections

Related

Private Credit

Goldman, Phoenix form credit partnership; Japan PFA lifts alternatives to $19bn

Phoenix Financial gains access to Goldman Sachs Alternatives' private investment-grade, senior direct lending and opportunistic credit capabilities.

Private Credit

Arcmont CIO Mattis Poetter says US lenders' retreat has reduced European mid-market deal competition

Mattis Poetter says Arcmont is often getting extra spread, better terms and less leverage on mid-market loans.

Private Credit

Moody's says US life insurers use rated note feeders to reach private credit

Moody's Ratings estimates 35% of US life insurance investments go toward private credit, and a NAIC review of the structures is ongoing.

Private Credit

Goldman survey finds 37% of LPs plan to commit more capital

Most LPs say re-ups took a meaningful share of the past year's commitments, leaving fewer slots for new managers.

Private Credit Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Direct lending, asset-based finance, BDCs and evergreen credit funds. Weekdays at 7:15 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections