At a glance
- A senior tranche that ties up less regulatory capital can clear at a thinner spread and still earn the same return on the balance-sheet dollar behind it.
- Benefit Street Partners closed its fifth CRE CLO of 2026 at $1.1 billion with a 30-month reinvestment period.
- For allocators, ACORE Capital's second opportunistic credit fund closed at $1.1 billion with $400 million, about 36%, already across 14 investments, showing deployment matters more than fund size.
Barings is urging insurers to revisit their investment-grade CLO allocations, arguing that European and US rule changes will make senior tranches more capital efficient for insurance balance sheets. A senior tranche that ties up less regulatory capital can clear at a thinner spread and still earn the same return on the balance-sheet dollar behind it.
Benefit Street Partners closed its fifth CRE CLO of 2026 at $1.1 billion with a 30-month reinvestment period. It is the third CLO drawn from the firm's Opportunistic Debt Fund II, and the reinvestment period lets the vehicle keep buying commercial real estate loans after the close.
For allocators, ACORE Capital's second opportunistic credit fund closed at $1.1 billion with $400 million, about 36%, already across 14 investments, showing deployment matters more than fund size. A reinvestment period like Benefit Street's sets how long a closed vehicle keeps buying, so the two $1.1 billion vehicles answer different due-diligence questions.
Sycamore Tree closed a $504 million CLO of US syndicated loans, Alternatives Watch reported in its Oct. 27 roundup. Terms beyond size and collateral were not disclosed. The collateral separates it from Benefit Street's deal: syndicated corporate loans rather than commercial mortgages.
Deer Park Road launched its second non-agency RMBS fund, following a $168 million first fund whose investment period ends in June 2027. Target size and fee were not disclosed.
Two $1.1 billion funds, two different bets
Two closed vehicles compared on size, capital deployed and collateral, as disclosed
Benefit Street
$1.1B
- Vehicle
- Fifth CRE CLO of 2026
- Reinvestment period
- 30 months
- Drawn from
- Opportunistic Debt Fund II
- Collateral
- Commercial real estate loans
ACORE Capital
$1.1B
- Vehicle
- Second opportunistic credit fund
- Deployed
- $400M
- Investments
- 14
- Share deployed
- About 36%
Show as table
| Benefit Street | ACORE Capital | |
|---|---|---|
| Figure | $1.1B | $1.1B |
| Vehicle | Fifth CRE CLO of 2026 | Second opportunistic credit fund |
| Reinvestment period | 30 months | |
| Drawn from | Opportunistic Debt Fund II | |
| Collateral | Commercial real estate loans | |
| Deployed | $400M | |
| Investments | 14 | |
| Share deployed | About 36% |
Reported by The Wrap desk from week coverage: Barings tells insurers to review IG CLO allocations, week coverage: Benefit Street Partners closes fifth CRE CLO of 2026, week coverage: ACORE Capital closes second opportunistic credit fund, Alternatives Watch and week coverage: Deer Park Road launches second non-agency RMBS fund. Published . Corrections
Continue this analysis
Get the complete Private Credit analysis and every detail that follows.
Enter a valid work email to continue reading.
Already a reader? Sign inPrivate Credit Daily, from Private Wealth Daily. Unsubscribe anytime.