Skip to content
Friday, October 23, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETFri, Oct 23 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

Alight's Finnish step-up demands an offtake answer

The 101-MWp solar park with Autoliv attached dwarfs Alight's 14.3-MWp Swedish start, and the revenue contract still has no named buyer.

At a glance

  1. The Finnish commissioning account from Renewables Now, as currently published, names no offtaker and does not specify whether Autoliv is a customer, a co-owner, or a sponsor.
  2. The capital stack also scales differently from the engineering.
  3. Alight has already shown it can complete: the Swedish start proved the build-and-connect half of this business, and an unnamed but attached PPA proved the revenue half at small scale.

A 101-MWp solar park that Alight and Autoliv brought online in Finland marks a step change for the developer, roughly seven times the 14.3-MWp Swedish plant that reached commercial operation late last month. That Swedish start carried a power purchase agreement, though the buyer remained unnamed. The Finnish commissioning account from Renewables Now, as currently published, names no offtaker and does not specify whether Autoliv is a customer, a co-owner, or a sponsor.

That gap is the whole question. It determines whether this asset earns contracted, infrastructure-style cash flow or sits in the merchant market, where generation is worth whatever the power price says hour by hour.

The capital stack also scales differently from the engineering. The modules and racking of a 101-MWp plant are 14.3 MWp of technology repeated about seven times, but lenders underwrite contracted revenue at one rate and merchant power at another. A commissioning announcement with no named offtaker leaves the expensive question unanswered. At 14.3 MWp, a single industrial buyer can carry the project economics; at 101 MWp, the offtake contract needs to be materially larger or materially longer.

Alight has already shown it can complete: the Swedish start proved the build-and-connect half of this business, and an unnamed but attached PPA proved the revenue half at small scale. What Finland tests is whether both halves hold at platform scale. The offtake is the story. Just as it was in Sweden, now there are seven times the megawatts riding on it. Until a buyer appears in writing, the 101-MWp plant is a construction milestone in search of a revenue proof.

Completion without disclosed offtake is merchant risk wearing an infrastructure costume. The contract, not the inverter count, will resolve which one this plant is.

Reported by the Energy Transition desk from Renewables Now. Published . Corrections

Related

Infrastructure

Google puts a price on duration

A long-duration battery on a reclaimed West Virginia coal mine has landed what no merchant battery in this cycle has had: a hyperscaler willing to pay for time.

Infrastructure

Fluor and JGC split $15bn LNG Canada phase-two EPC work

The same week's renewables deals with Meta, Amazon, NZ Clean and Ørsted disclosed no price, offtake, or both.

Infrastructure

Alight buys a 2-GW Swedish solar pipeline, price undisclosed

A Renewables Now report names the buyer and capacity but omits the seller, project list, grid position, and financing terms.

Infrastructure

Krolmap plans 225MW data center campus in Spain

Six buildings across 25 hectares in the La Legua industrial park; on-site generation would supply power, with capacity and tenants not yet published.

Infrastructure

Commerce signs $389m in power-semiconductor R&D letters of intent

Helion is in line for up to $175 million and Commonwealth Fusion Systems up to $85 million for fusion power electronics, Data Center Dynamics reports.

Private Infrastructure Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Energy transition, digital infrastructure and core-plus funds. Weekdays at 7:25 a.m. ET.

Free. Weekday mornings. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections